Baton Rouge DWI Lawyers

Louisiana DUI Attorneys at Rozas & Associates

A DWI is a major offense, and one that has the potential to severely threaten your future and professional reputation. It is crucial that experienced, trustworthy legal representation is contacted in a timely fashion to effectively dispute any charges held against you, whether it is your first offense or not. At Rozas & Associates, our DWI lawyers have years of experience providing the help you need to protect your rights during both criminal and civil proceedings. 

DUI/DWI Laws in Louisiana
In Louisiana, it is a crime to operate any motor vehicle while intoxicated to the point where the operator’s Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) is .08% or greater,* or the operator is under the influence of any controlled dangerous substance to the point where they are noticeably impaired. 

When it comes to DUI/DWI cases, it is critical that you take action quickly, for some deadlines cannot be extended. Not only that, but negotiating the various levels of punishments for a DUI/DWI, whether that be fines, jail time, suspensions, classes, etc, requires an attorney with a certain level of skill and experience working with these types of cases. If you have prior DWI convictions, our team will  investigate these to try and mitigate the current charge’s consequences.

Comprehending the DUI / DWI laws and courtroom proceedings in Louisiana can be complicated and challenging. Choosing a qualified and experienced Louisiana DWI lawyer can make all the difference in the world when it comes to the outcome of your DUI or DWI case. If you or a loved one has been arrested for DUI or DWI, it is paramount that you contact an attorney as quickly as possible to ensure the best possible outcome for your case. Get in touch with our Louisiana DUI lawyers today at Rozas & Associates, with offices in Baton Rouge and Lafayette.

* by weight based on grams of alcohol per one hundred cubic centimeters of blood; 

FAQs About DUIs in Louisiana

Can You Get a DUI Expunged in Louisiana?

Technically no, you cannot get a convicted DUI expunged in Louisiana. However, there are specific situations where you can avoid having it on your record, but you have to meet particular criteria to be eligible. Get in touch with a professional DUI lawyer today and get a criminal defense consultation.

What Happens When You Get a DUI in Louisiana?

When you get a DUI, you could face jail time, fines, community service, license suspension, and more, depending on the number of previous offenses. If you are convicted of a DUI in Louisiana, it can stay on your record for the rest of your life. This can affect you negatively when applying for a job, applying for a loan, or purchasing a gun. Your insurance rates may go up.

How Much Does a DUI Cost in Louisiana?

The initial cost of a DUI can vary depending on the severity and the number of offenses you have accumulated. This is a general overview of what you could pay.
  • First offense - $300 - $1,000
  • Second Offense - $750 - $1,000
  • Third Offense - $2,000
  • Fourth Offense - $5,000
It is important to know that you will be spending more than just this specific fine. You will potentially have to pay for a breathalyzer interlock device in your vehicle, take court-approved substance abuse programs, and more.

Can You Get a DUI on a Bike?

You cannot get a DUI on a bike because the law applies to people operating a motor vehicle. The penalty for riding a bicycle drunk would be a ticket for public intoxication and possibly not following traffic laws.

Criminal Defense Attorney Consultation

Representation in English & Español

Call 225-478-1111.

Submit a form to our Louisiana law firm to schedule a consultation with an experienced Louisiana lawyer to handle your criminal defense needs. English and Spanish-speaking representation is available.

Fill out my online form.