Charged with Marijuana Possession?

Know your rights!

In 2021, the Louisiana State Legislature decriminalized simple possession of marijuana. Decriminalization typically means no arrests, no prison time, or no criminal record for the first-time possession of a small amount of marijuana for personal use. However, being charged with possession of marijuana is still a serious issue, and having a marijuana arrest on your record can cause many problems in the future, which is why you need a criminal defense lawyer on your side.

A marijuana charge does not need to follow you for the rest of your life. Call Rozas & Associates at (225) 269-2493 for a session with someone from our team of Marijuana Lawyers in Baton Rouge.
medical marijuana in louisiana

Marijuana Crimes & Penalties Louisiana

Marijuana may be decriminalized, but certain amounts and misuses can still be punishable, so you need to speak with an experienced drug crime lawyer.

These are a few crimes you can be charged with in Louisiana.

Possession of Marijuana

Penalties Can Vary

  • Possession amounts of 14g or less have a fine of no more than $100 and no possibility of any jail time.
  • Possession amounts between 14g and 2.5lbs earn a maximum fine of $500 and a minimum of 6 months of jail time.
  • More than 2.5lbs is a felony, with 2-10 years of jail time and a maximum of $30,000 — felony charges increase as the amount of marijuana does.
First and second offenders may be eligible for probation. Mandatory minimum sentencing is required.
marijuana possession penalties

Distribution or Cultivation of Marijuana

This is a very serious offense. If caught cultivating or distributing any amount of marijuana, it is automatically a felony. Minimum charges start from 5 to 30 years in jail time and a max fine of $50,000. Penalties increase per subsequent offense. A mandatory minimum sentence is required.
marijuana distribution and cultivation penalties

Drugged Driving

This is also known as "driving under the influence" and is illegal in every state. Laws forbid drivers from operating a vehicle if they have a detectable level of an illicit drug or drug metabolite present in their bodies above a specific state-imposed threshold. If caught driving under the influence, you'll get a DUI, which can have very serious and lasting repurcussions. 

Drivers License Privileges

These laws state that any person 19 years of age or older convicted of a crime involving the possession, use or abuse of one or more controlled substances, will be issued an order of denial of driving privileges for not less than thirty days but no more than a year.
suspended drivers license

Mandatory Minimum Sentence

This is a sentence with a predetermined minimum length. The judge must sentence the defendant to the mandatory minimum sentence or to a higher sentence. The judge does not have power to sentence the defendant to less time than the mandatory minimum.

In Louisiana, the fact that there are some mandatory minimum sentences of life without parole means that even nonviolent marijuana offenders can be sentenced thus.
marijuana minimum sentencing

Call Your Marijuana Lawyer in Baton Rouge

We are committed to helping people through their most difficult times. Our team at Rozas and Associates is ready to go! Call now for your Marijuana possession lawyer. English and Spanish-speaking representation is available.

FAQs About Marijuana Crime

Is Marijuana Legal in Louisiana?

Marijuana is not legal in Louisiana for recreational use. Marijuana is decriminalized only if local police have the mandate in their jurisdiction; Baton Rouge and New Orleans have this mandate. This means people who do not show the intent to sell or who have less than 14 grams will not face criminal charges and will instead get a 100-dollar fine. It is important to note that if you find yourself with more than 14 grams or with the intent to sell, the penalties become much more severe. This will lead to criminal charges being brought against you.

What’s the Difference Between Marijuana Use and Possession?

Possession of a controlled substance is classified as a person who owns or otherwise knowingly possesses a drug without legal justification or permission. Marijuana use pertains to the act of taking the drug to alter your mental state.

Is Medical Marijuana Illegal in Louisiana?

Medical marijuana is legal in Louisiana; patients must have a doctor's recommendation and a qualifying medical condition to be eligible.

How Much Marijuana is Considered a Felony in Louisiana?

In Louisiana, possession of marijuana becomes a felony starting at the possession of 28 grams, and the penalty will become more severe depending on how much over the limit you have.
  • 14.1-27.9 g: Up to 6 months in jail and up to $500 in fines.  
  • 28 g-2.49 lb: Between 1-10 years and up to $50,000 in fines. 
  • 2.5 lb or more: Between 1-20 years and up to $50,000 in fines.

Speak With Us Now

Representation in English & Español

Call 225-478-1111.

Submit a form to our Louisiana law firm to schedule a consultation with an experienced Louisiana lawyer to handle your criminal defense, immigration, or family law needs. English and Spanish-speaking representation is available.