Do divorce laws vary by state?
Yes. There are as many divorce laws as there are states. Even neighboring states can have completely different laws than each other. For example, divorce in Louisiana greatly differs from divorce in Texas or Mississippi. Before filing for divorce, it is recommended that you familiarize yourself with Louisiana divorce law and consider hiring an experienced divorce attorney.
How long does a divorce take?
In Louisiana, a no-fault divorce can take between 6 months and a little over a year, depending on child status
. In fault-based divorces, the process will take at least 2 years. However, the residual effects of the divorce such as child custody agreements
, property settlements
, etc, will likely extend the process as a whole. If this is the case, hiring a divorce lawyer
in Louisiana is highly recommended.
Do I need grounds for a divorce in Louisiana?
No, Louisiana divorce laws allow couples to file for divorce just based on the fact that they are living separately and apart from one another.
Is there a separation requirement in Louisiana?
Yes. Spouses must live completely apart from one another for 180 days when there are no children involved. If they have kids, the divorcing couple must be separated for 1 year. If the divorce is fault-based, the couple will have to spend 2 years living separately before the divorce will be finalized.